Acrobat’s Loupe Tool

10/08/2007

The Loupe tool allows you to easily change the magnification of a PDF file. This tool is best used when you want to keep a PDF file at a standard zoom level (like 100%) and magnify certain features. To use the Loupe tool:

  1. Open a PDF and go to Tools > Select and Zoom > Loupe tool
  2. The Loupe Tool Window will popup:
    loupe.png
  3. In the middle of your PDF, you’ll see small rectangle.
  4. If you click and drag the rectangle around your screen, you’ll see that the Loupe Tool window changes correspondingly.
  5. To change the magnification, simply click the plus or minus buttons on the Loupe window or use the corners of the onscreen rectangle to resize.
19 Responses to “Acrobat’s Loupe Tool”

  1. Mark Says:

    Has anyone else seen this problem with the Loupe and Pan & Zoom tools? When either of these is selected on a new install (computers in my classroom have DeepFreeze so every reboot is in a new install state), the window for the tool is not visible. Because it doesn’t have a corresponding button in the Windows task bar, there is no way to reposition a window that is out of view (my assumption as to why it’s invisible). On one machine changing to Full Screen view and back redrew the window in view, but that is not consistently successful. I found no other references to this issue on the Adobe site or any others in a Google search.

  2. Katie Says:

    I had exactly the same problem today. I can’t get Acrobat to display the loupe tool window. Any more ideas?

  3. Emric Phibes Says:

    I am having the exact same problem with the loupe tool on my company’s machines. We are a computer teaching organization and one of the classes that we teach is Acrobat 8. But, whenever we teach the class at least a couple of our computers’ loupe tool will not work. Has anyone figured out how to fix this problem from continuously happening?

    Thanks.

  4. Hal Says:

    I am having the same problem. Any fixes yet?

  5. Nancy Says:

    I had the same problem. I did try to jump between full screen view and regular view. After 2 or 3 tries, the Loupe tool magnification box finally showed up on my second screen. I dragged it over onto my main screen- where the document was. It works well when you finally get it to show up.

  6. mohd Says:

    thanks Nancy it worked

  7. jg Says:

    Doesnt work for me only a blue lined rectangle appears???????????

  8. Patrick Digmann Says:

    I found a fix, but it ain’t pretty or for the faint of heart (registry editing required). As for all things you read on the ‘net, your mileage may vary. Normal registry hacking disclaimers apply.

    I found some rather large numbers (in the 100,000,000’s) in the iBottom, iLeft, iRight, iTop keys in the following location:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareAdobeAcrobat Reader9.0WindowcAVLoupe

    Resetting them to 0 put my loupe tool atop Reader next time i used the tool. my best guess is that these are pixel locations, but i could be very wrong.

    (note: edit the registry with reader closed – Reader overwrites some values upon exit. I noticed more normal values in the 100’s or 1000’s after exiting Reader)

  9. Jonathan K. Says:

    Just tried this, worked beautifully.

    In my case, iBottom and iTop were exceptionally large with a small difference between them, while iRight and iLeft were both well under 1000. I changed the former two to 100 and the window was visible next time I started Acrobat 9.0 and used the loupe tool.

  10. David W. Goodrich Says:

    Thank you, thank you, this worked for me. Like Jonathan K., 2 of my values were humungous, two moderate, but I zeroed all 4.

  11. David Imrie Says:

    Thanks Patrick this worked a treat. Wonder why it is such a common problem?

  12. David Imrie Says:

    Actually I have found two other problems.
    1. repairing the loupe tool seems to result in the loss of the pan/zoom tool. Repair this in the same way as before, but look for and replace large values in cAVNavigator instead of cAVLoupe.
    2. Because these changes only apply to the current user, this workaround won’t apply across networks or other users on same computer. This is a real pain, actually. Any ideas, people?

  13. Jorge Díaz V. Says:

    Thanks, Patrick Digmann. It worked just perfectly for me.

  14. Willem de Wet Says:

    Is there any means transferring the Loupe Tool icon to the Microsoft Excel spreadsheet or aWword document toolbars.

  15. Jerry C Mancuso Says:

    This worked for me.

    @David Imrie: You can export the registry settings from within Regedit and just run that exported file on each computer. It will automatically update those settings in the registry.

  16. joann Says:

    After using the Loupe tool in a PDF, how do I get it to turn off? Thanks.

  17. pat Says:

    I think the loupe tool problem, like many other Adobe issues with commenting, editing, etc. seems to happen only when multiple PDFs are open at the same time. For instance impossible to get the typewriter color box to change from grayed out when multiple PDFs are opened.

  18. Gregg Says:

    Had the same problem in Windows Reader X. Couldn’t find the pertinent registry key. Instead, I uninstalled Reader X, threw away the leftover registry folder for reader 9, yes 9, at HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareAdobeAcrobat Reader after exporting a copy of the key to a file for potential restoration if needed, reinstalled Reader X and all is well.

  19. Nima Says:

    Thanks mate worked for me, Good work!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.